Ted Cruz introduces Term Limits Amendment

Ted Cruz introduces Term Limits Amendment

On Tuesday, Senator Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and Representative Ron DeSantis (R-Florida) introduced a Constitutional Amendment to impose term limits on all members of Congress. Joining the proposals as cosponsors are Republican Senators Marco Rubio of Florida, Mike Lee of Utah, David Perdue of Georgia, Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, Deb Fischer of Nebraska, and Thom Tillis of North Carolina.

The text for U.S. Joint Resolution 2 has not been released yet, but the amendment as submitted calls for limiting members of the U.S. Senate to two terms (twelve years) and members of the U.S. House to three terms (six years).

President-Elect Trump has referenced implementing Congressional term limits as part of his plan to ‘drain’ the Washington ‘swamp,’ marking the first time since term limits became a central Republican issue in 1995 that a president assumed office with term limits as a priority. Speaker of the House Paul Ryan has said he supports the concept of term limits, but hesitated at committing to place such a resolution above other pressing issues.

“D.C. is broken,” Cruz commented on Tuesday as he introduced the amendment. “The American people resoundingly agreed on Election Day, and President-elect Donald Trump has committed to putting government back to work for the American people. It is well past time to put an end to the cronyism and deceit that has transformed Washington into a graveyard of good intentions.”

“Term limits are the first step towards reforming Capitol Hill,” DeSantis added. “Eliminating the political elite and infusing Washington with new blood will restore the citizen legislature that our Founding Fathers envisioned. The American people have called for increased accountability and we must deliver. Senator Cruz has been instrumental in efforts to hold Congress accountable, and I look forward to working with him to implement term limits.”

Be sure to follow HYPELINE on Facebook and Twitter!